Cost of living in Spain – April 2017

on

Prior to moving out to Spain, one of the most useful blogs I used to read was from a lady who used to write about the cost of living over here.

With this in mind, I have created our version – I hope you find it useful.

Typical Basic Shopping costs

Wine from the local bodega (Red / White) 5 Litres 5.00
Beer San Miguel x 6 cans 2.65
Coffee 5.25
Fanta Limon x 8 3.52
Eggs x 24 2.29
Bread (stick) .75
Butter 1.15
Orange juice .59
Milk cartons x 6 3.48
Tins of tomatoes x 536 kg 1.28
Iceberg lettuce .85
Minced meat 500 grams approx 4.50

Other bills

House Insurance (Pay annually approx. 180 euros with Bank) 15
Gas bottle approx. 12 euro each / 2 per month 24
Water (mains agriculture) 11
Electric (Pay 95 every 2 months) 50
Dog Scalibur collars to protect them from Ticks and Mosquitos (4 dogs annual 150) 13
Internet 33
Wood for woodburner (Pay annually 170 – 2 tonne) 14
Oil for central heating (Pay annually approx 250 euros) 20
Mobile phone contract x 2 20
Clothes approx budget 15

img_3879.jpg

Suma’s / Taxes

Recogida Residuos Solidos Urba – Bins (Pay annually March) 58.00 4.83
Cuotas Y Derramas – Water (pay annually March) 85.00 7.08
IMPTO Bienes Inmuebles Rustica – council tax (Pay annually Sept) 18.84 1.57
IMPTO Bienes Inmeubles Urbana – council tax (Pay annually Sept) 159.92 13.32

Car Costs

Car x 4×4 (pay annually March) 79.13 6.60
Car x Cactus (pay annually March) 37.49 3.12
Car insurance x New car (Pay annually) 451 37.58
Car insurance x Old car (Pay annually) 395 29.91
ITV Spanish version of a MOT (Pay annually 108.17) per car 9.01
Diesel approx. 1.15 litre na

TrencalPoolVieww-600x336.jpg

Self employed costs including / paying into the Spanish system

Self-employed – Social security (includes pension, health care for the family) are staggered over the first 19 months to help new businesses.

Month 1 – 6 50
Month 7 – 12 120
Month 13 – 18 200
Month 19 – 24 270
Business insurance policy (75 euros for the year) 6.25
Monthly accountant fee 65

menu-del-día3.jpg

Eating out is relatively cheap

Coffee in the local café’s 1.20
Menu Del Dia start from 10 euros per person
Pint varies – approx. 2 euros

A few things to bear in mind when thinking about the above figures,

• We are a family of 3 who doesn’t eat out much – we enjoy home cooking and we have to budget ourselves carefully
• We live in a 3 bedroom house in the campo with 2700 sq metres of land and a large pool
• We have no rent or mortgage payments to allow for
• We have a Reverse Osmosis so we don’t have to pay for drinking water at the shop
• One of the cars is an old Nissan Terrano 4×4 – 16 years old
• Of course we have to budget for ongoing car maintenance for the old car
• The other car is a new Cactus – very economical and cheaper on the car tax (Suma)
• The pool pump is on 12 months a year however ad hoc in the winter to keep it ticking over and 3 x 1 hr intervals in the summer.
• There is no TV license in Spain but if you want UK TV there will be some sort of cost whether it’s to purchase a kodi box or pay a monthly / annual fee to stream TV
• Vet fees are much cheaper in Spain
• The bank charges approx. 30 euros every quarter if you are a non-resident (we are residents so we no longer pay it)
• 2nd Hand cars in Spain are more expensive than in the UK – New cars seem cheaper
• Although running cars in Spain is cheaper, here in the campo we do more miles than we did in the UK – for example, the school run is 8 x 7 minute journeys a day which adds up to over 45 minutes a day. Example –

9am drop Olivia off – return home = 2 journeys
12.30 Pick Olivia up at lunch and return home = 2 journeys
3.30 Drop Olivia off at school and return home = 2 journeys
5pm Pick Olivia up and return home = 2 journeys

We heat the house by the following methods

• Gas bottles = hot water / shower
• Electricity = pool, house sockets, lights, dishwasher, washing machine etc.
• Wood burner = heat the front room
• Oil central heating = used from November to March – 30 mins morning / 30 mins night
• The gas bottle depends on whether we have guests over or not – for a family of 3 it usually last 3 weeks – with guest approx 2 weeks.
• Our weekly shopping budget including cleaning detergents, dog & cat food etc is approx. 100 euros a week

gas-car.jpg

All in all, we need to earn approximately 1000 – 1100 euros a month without a rent / mortgage payment but this will increase over the year as the social security payments rise.

I hope those that are thinking about moving to Spain.

Regards

Lee

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s